Jimna Public Hall

Jimna Hall built 1934

Jimna Hall built 1934

Jimna is a very early Australian village, established about 1920, of the timber getting and gold mining era. The village itself, tiny and much unchanged from the early days, is a wonderful experience of how it was for our pioneers and forestry workers.

Here is a little story written by a member of the Lewis family from about 1945:

“There was no transport from Jimna to Kilcoy and most residents didn’t have cars, so it was necessary to catch a ride on the provisions truck at the time. If the double cabin was full, the kids would sit up on top of the sawn timber or otherwise, catch a ride on the logging trucks and sit atop the logs down the dirt range to Kilcoy.”

For young people, it used to be a great activity to go horseriding out to a section of Yabba Creek, about 4kms from Jimna. The area was full of peach trees and it was a sheer delight to ‘boil the billy’ and eat the peaches!  ‘Peach Trees’ today, is a still a beautiful place to visit.

In 1934 the Jimna Hall was built by the working bees of local residents.  Local timbers were donated for the cause by Yabba Station, Hancock & Gore Mill and Nanango Mill. In the same year, the Jimna branch of the QCWA was formed and meetings were held at the hall.

The Jimna Hall today is still the centre of community happenings. The local residents have spent many volunteer hours restoring it with the assistance from Somerset Regional Council and State grants. There is a ‘top shelf’ catering kitchen adjacent to the long traditional supper room, all available for hire.  Best of all, Jimna Hall is only a short 100m walk to Jimna Base Camp!